Starting a Startup with the Plato Project

As part of my mission for personal growth through acquisition and sharing of knowledge, the increasingly popular social entrepreneurship movement appeals to me.

My health care background also fuels my interest in sustainable and empathetic innovation. In fact, my desire to effect change through consumer involvement and facilitation has informed other professional interests of mine, including health informatics and user experience design.

Social entrepreneurship appeals to the altruistic part of me that doesn’t feel the need for voluntourism to appease. I believe in empowerment – that is, helping people to help themselves. But I also want to give back to my local community before seeking to change the world. You know, baby steps 😉

I first found out about the Plato Project through a sponsored ad on my Facebook news feed. I always keep an eye out for interesting business articles, and Plato’s ad drew my attention and prompted me to quickly scan the landing page. The opportunity to develop an idea for a startup with a short course, delivered under a school of thought focused on mindset and purpose, was novel and in line with my own style of thinking and working. The Plato Project is focused on helping entrepreneurs develop purposeful business in a way that is meaningful to each creator.

I took the plunge and signed myself up. I already had an idea brewing in the back of my mind for a couple of years, so now was as good a time as any to develop it into a tangible business plan, which is the end product at the end of the course.

Sessions were held on Saturdays at the very swish Edgelabs space in Fitzroy, Melbourne. The environment did wonders for my creativity and productivity!

IMG_8859

Our facilitator was Ben Roulston, an experienced entrepreneur and enthusiastic teacher. Multifaceted educational tools and resources were provided, including:

  • Self-directed learning through Plato Project’s online learning portal
  • Templates for each activity that would fit neatly into the final business plan
  • Group discussion and idea sharing
  • Interactive tutorials
  • Facilitated free time to work on activities
  • Insightful guest speakers
  • One-on-one phone meetings with Ben to discuss individual progress and obtain personalised feedback

IMG_8857

Each and every 6-hour day would be over before I knew it. Time flies when you’re having fun, becoming inspired and learning heaps!

My time with the Plato Project gave me the opportunity to introduce myself to like-minded entrepreneurs – not only my classmates, but entire networks dedicated to value-driven global citizenship. During my time as a class participant, I was able to arrange meetings with two guest speakers and gain valuable insight and advice about my business, while offering ideas of my own. It’s the empathetic exchange of ideas and stories that makes the Plato experience so positive.

You can learn more about the Plato Project here, and find me on Linkedin if you’d like more info on my activities.

Tas xo

Leave a Reply

